Honors and Awards

• Lillie P. Howard, senior vice president for curriculum and instruction and professor of English at Wright State University, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her efforts to promote equity and diversity at the university.

Professor Howard is a graduate of the University of South Alabama. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico.

• Clarence W. Pearson Jr., chair of the department of architecture at the University of the District of Columbia, received the Paul Phillips Cooke Award during the university’s Founders’ Day ceremonies.

Professor Pearson is a graduate of Hampton University and holds a master’s degree in urban design from Catholic University of America.

The State University of New York at New Paltz has named its minority scholarship fund in honor of the late Margaret Wade-Lewis. Chair of the black studies department at the university, Dr. Wade-Lewis died from cancer on December 30, 2009. She had been on the faculty at the university for 36 years.

The university aims to raise $1 million for the Margaret Wade-Lewis Memorial Minority Recruitment Program Scholarship Endowment Fund by the end of this year.