Honors and Awards

• Jeanne C. Sinkford was named the recipient of the 2009 Herbert W. Nickens Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. She was honored for outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education. Dr. Sinkford is the director of the American Dental Education Association’s Center for Equity and Diversity. She formerly served as dean of the Howard University College of Dentistry. In addition to her dental degree from Howard University, Dr. Sinkford holds master’s and Ph.D. degrees from Northwestern University.

• Terrell L. Strayhorn, associate professor of higher education at the University of Tennessee, received the Early Career Award from the Association for the Study of Higher Education.

Dr. Strayhorn holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Virginia and a doctorate from Virginia Tech.

• Johnnetta B. Cole, former president of Spelman and Bennett colleges and now director of the National Museum of African Art, will receive an honorary degree later this month at the fall commencement ceremonies of North Carolina A&T State University.

Dr. Cole is a graduate of Oberlin College and holds a master’s degree and Ph.D. in anthropology from Northwestern University.

• Joseph N. Green Jr., who served for 30 years as rector of the Grace Episcopal Church in Norfolk, Virginia, received the 2009 DuBose Award for Service from the School of Theology at Sewanee-The University of the South. A graduate of St. Augustine’s College in Raleigh, North Carolina, in 1965 Reverend Green was the first African American to earn a degree from the School of Theology at Sewanee.

• Allison Jackson was inducted into the African-American Alumni Alliance Hall of Fame at Rutgers University. Jackson graduated from high school at age 14 and from college at age 18. Three of her five advanced degrees were earned at Rutgers.

Jackson had a distinguished career as a city planner for Somerset County, New Jersey, and as a vice president for RCA Corporation. She also served as dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at Princeton University.