Honors and Awards

• Dorothy Holland, assistant vice president for student affairs at Bowie State University in Maryland, received the Presidential Medallion for extraordinary service to the university. Holland has served as an administrator at Bowie State for 39 years.

• Kenneth Walker, director of outreach services at the University of West Alabama in Livingston, received the 2010 National Role Model Award from Minority Access Inc., a nonprofit group that seeks to increase diversity in higher education. Walker is a graduate of Alabama State University.

• James L. Moore III, professor of physical activity and educational services and director of the Todd A. Bell National Resource Center on the African-American Male at Ohio State University, is the recipient of the 2010 W.E.B. Du Bois Higher Education Award presented by the National Alliance of Black School Educators.

Dr. Moore holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, all from Virginia Tech.

• Wangari Maathai, the 2004 recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, will receive the Nichols-Chancellor’s Medal from Vanderbilt University this coming spring. Maathai, founder of the Green Belt Movement, is now a member of the Kenyan parliament.

Dr. Maathai is a graduate of Mount Saint Scholastica College in Atchison, Kansas. She holds a master’s degree in biology from the University of Pittsburgh and a Ph.D. in anatomy from the University of Nairobi.

• Halvan J. Lieteau, a longtime IBM employee and, later, a successful entrepreneur, is the recipient of the Victor H. Labat Alumnus of the Year Award bestowed by Xavier University of New Orleans. He has served as chair of the university’s alumni chapters in both New York and New Orleans.

• The new high technology science building on the campus of Lincoln University in Pennsylvania, will be named in honor of Ivory V. Nelson, the university’s president.

Dr. Nelson has served as the university’s president since 1999. He is a graduate of Grambling State University and holds a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from the University of Kansas.