Honors and Awards

Eddie Ellis, director of bands at South Carolina State University in Orangeburg, received the Dr. G. Johnson Hubert and Cleophus Johnson Award for Distinguished Achievement in Music.

Ellis is a graduate of Morris Brown College in Atlanta. He holds a master’s degree in music education from Georgia State University.

CBS News is providing funds to establish an endowed professorship at the School of Journalism and Graphic Communication at historically black Florida A&M University. The chair will honor the late Harold Dow, who served as a correspondent for the CBS News program 48 Hours.

Tolor E. White, vice president for finance at Southern University in Baton Rouge, was given an honorary doctorate in business. White has been a faculty member and administrator at Southern University for the past 53 years.

White is a graduate of Southern University and holds a master’s degree in accounting from Louisiana State University.

Alvin F. Poussaint, professor of psychiatry and associate faculty dean for student affairs at Harvard Medical School, received the 2010 Herbert W. Nickens Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. The award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to promote justice in medical education.

Monica L. Miller, associate professor of English at Barnard College in New York City, is the recipient of the William Sanders Scarborough Award from the Modern Language Association. Professor Sanders was honored for her book Slaves to Fashion: Black Dandyism and the Styling of Black Diasporic Identity.

Professor Miller is a graduate of Dartmouth College and holds a Ph.D. from Harvard University.

Wash A. Jones, assistant professor of agriculture, nutrition, and human ecology at Prairie View A&M University in Texas, received the Honorary American Degree from the National FFA Organization, formerly known as the Future Farmers of America.