Ohio University Forms an Alliance With Eight HBCUs

Ohio University and eight historically black colleges and universities have formed what is called the Interlink Alliance. Members of the alliance have pledged to work cooperatively in three key areas: faculty development, student leadership, and an African-American male initiative that engages and motivates prospective college students as early as middle school.

For example, the members of the alliance will share ideas on the best strategies to steer more African Americans to careers in the academic world and how best to recruit and retain black male students. The alliance was the brainchild of Ohio University president Roderick J. McDavis. Tyrone M. Carr, associate director of organizational development at Ohio University, will serve as director of the alliance.

Blacks make up 5 percent of the nearly 18,000 undergraduates at Ohio University’s main campus in Athens.

The eight HBCUs involved in the alliance are Central State University, Spelman College, Wilberforce University, Johnson C. Smith University, North Carolina Central University, Hampton University, South Carolina State University, and Virginia State University.