Appointments, Promotions, and Resignations

Annette Gordon-Reed, professor of law, professor of history, and the Carol K. Pforzheimer Professor at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, was elected to the board of trustees of Dartmouth College.

Professor Gordon-Reed is a 1981 graduate of Dartmouth College and she earned a law degree at Harvard. Gordon-Reed is a past winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Humanities Medal and is a current MacArthur Foundation Fellow.

Phillip L. Clay, chancellor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology since 2001, has announced his intention to step down as soon as the university can find his replacement. As chancellor he was responsible for overseeing the offices of Undergraduate Education, Graduate Education, and Student Life. He will remain a professor of urban studies and planning at MIT.

Dr. Clay is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and holds a Ph.D. from MIT.

Stacey Franklin Jones has stepped down as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Bowie State University in Maryland. Dr. Jones, who became provost this past July, had come under fire for not consulting with the faculty on job reassignments.

Dr. Jones is a graduate of Howard University. She holds two master’s degrees from Johns Hopkins University and a Ph.D. in computer science from George Washington University.

Jennifer A. Richeson, a professor of psychology and a fellow of the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University, was appointed Weinberg College Board of Visitors Research and Teaching Professor at Northwestern.

Dr. Richeson is a graduate of Brown University and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in social psychology from Harvard University.