• John Hope Franklin, the James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of History at Duke University, was awarded the John W. Kluge Prize for lifetime achievement in the study of humanity. The prize is given by the Library of Congress and comes with a $500,000 cash award. The prize is funded by an endowment given to the Library of Congress by media mogul John W. Kluge.

Audrey Ellerbee, a fifth-year graduate student in biomedical engineering at Duke University, is the recipient of the 2007 Golden Torch Award as the graduate student of the year from the National Society of Black Engineers.