Honors and Awards

• Linda C. Tillman, professor of educational administration at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was selected to receive the 2009 Jay D. Scribner Mentoring Award from the University Council for Educational Administration. The award is given for contributions relating to the mentoring of doctoral students and advising junior faculty.

Dr. Tillman holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Ohio State University. She earned a master’s degree at the University of Dayton.

• Cheryl S. Taylor, director of the Office of Nursing Research at Southern University in Baton Rouge, received the Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award for Nursing Excellence from the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

Dr. Taylor earned her bachelor’s of science in nursing from Dillard University of New Orleans. She holds a master’s degree in systems-oriented community mental health nursing from the University of Washington at Seattle and a Ph.D. in nursing from Texas Woman’s University.

• Geoffrey Canada, founder and CEO of the Harlem Children’s Zone, received the Robert Coles “Call of Service” Award from the Phillips Brooks House Association at Harvard University.

• LeaNora Ruffin, assistant dean of the Widener University School of Law, received the Leadership Award from the Office of Women in Higher Education of the American Council on Education.

Ruffin received both her bachelor’s and law degrees from the University of Pennsylvania.

• Veola P. Martin was named Educator of the Year at Harris-Stowe State University in St. Louis. She has taught physical education at the university for the past 16 years.

Dr. Martin is a graduate of Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. She holds a master’s degree from Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville and an educational doctorate from the University of Georgia.