Honors and Awards

• Beverly H. Wright received a 2009 Heinz Award in environmental studies from the Heinz Family Philanthropies. Dr. Wright is professor of sociology and director of the Deep South Center for Environmental Justice at Dillard University in New Orleans. The award comes with a cash stipend of $100,000.

• Joseph J. Russell, former chair of the Department of Afro-American Affairs at Indiana University and a founding member of the National Council for Black Studies, received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Indiana University where he earned both master’s and doctoral degrees.

• David Lloyd Briscoe, professor of sociology at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale.

• Annette Gordon-Reed, a professor at New York Law School who also teaches on the Newark campus of Rutgers University, won the 2009 Frederick Douglass Book Prize from the Gilder-Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition at Yale University for her book The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family. Professor Gordon-Reed had previously won the National Book Award, the George Washington Book Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize for the same work.

Professor Gordon-Reed is a graduate of Dartmouth College and Harvard Law School.