Jeanne C. Sinkford, former dean of the Howard University College of Dentistry and current director of the Center for Equity and Diversity at the American Dental Education Association, received the Trailblazer Award from the National Dental Association. The Trailblazer Award has only been given out three times in the 94-year history of the National Dental Association.

Dr. Sinkford is a graduate of Howard University and also earned a dental degree from Howard. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in physiology from Northwestern University.

Cato Laurencin, Lillian T. Pratt Professor and chair of the department of orthopaedic surgery and professor of biomedical and chemical engineering at the University of Virginia, received the inaugural Robert A. Bland Award in Engineering and Applied Science. The award is given by the School of Engineering and Applied Science to honor Robert Bland, the first African-American graduate of the university.

Romeo Morrisey, program manager for the Center for Homeland Security Training at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville, was inducted into the ROTC Hall of Fame. Morrisey had a 27-year career in the military. He was in the Pentagon when it was attacked on September 11, 2001.