Honors and Awards

• Russell Thomas Jr., professor of music at Jackson State University in Mississippi, was honored with the Mississippi Jazz Foundation Award for his contributions to music education and the music entertainment industry.

• Karl Henry, chair of the engineering technology program at Drake State Technical College in Huntsville, Alabama, was the recipient of the Chancellor’s Award as the 2009 Technical Faculty Member of the Year in the state of Alabama. Professor Henry has been on the college’s faculty for 16 years.

• Eliot Battle, an educator who helped ease the transition from racially segregated schools in Columbia, Missouri, was awarded an honorary degree at the winter commencement of the University of Missouri. Battle is the founder of the Minority Men’s Network and author of the book A Letter to Young Black Men.

• Henry Louis Gates Jr., Fletcher University Professor and director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African-American Research at Harvard University, received the Morry Award for his lifelong dedication to education from Project Morry, a year-round youth development organization for inner-city children.