Kathryn Morgan, Sarah Lawrence Lightfoot Emerita Professor of History at Swarthmore College, was elected to the Circle of Elders of the National Association of Black Storytellers. Morgan was the first African-American faculty member at Swarthmore College.

Tomorrow evening Margaret C. Simms, senior fellow at the Urban Institute, will receive the Samuel Z. Westerfield Award at the annual meeting of the National Economic Association in New Orleans. The award recognizes excellence in public service and policy.

Simms holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University. She has served on the faculty of Atlanta University, Clark Atlanta University, and the University of California at Santa Cruz.

The University of Virginia received the Peterson’s Award for Innovation in Promoting an Inclusive Graduate Community from the Council of Graduate Schools. The award is given to institutions to identify, recruit, retain, and graduate minority graduate students.