Honors and Awards

• Henry Givens Jr., president of Harris-Stowe State University in St. Louis, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Martin Luther King Jr. State Celebration Commission. President Givens has served as president of the commission since its founding a quarter of a century ago.

• Oluwatosin O. Dada, research assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Notre Dame, received the Best Paper Award presented by the academic journal Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry.

Dr. Dada is a graduate of Olabisi Onabanjo University in Nigeria. He holds a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Utah State University.

• Spencer C. Disher Jr., director of student health at Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina, was honored by the Orangeburg Regional Medical Center for his “commitment as a professional servant in the healing arts” over the past half-century.

Dr. Disher is a graduate of South Carolina State University and Meharry Medical College. He has established an endowed scholarship program at Meharry for students from South Carolina.

• Shauna M. Cooper, assistant professor of psychology at the University of South Carolina, will receive the inaugural award from the Andrew Billingsley African-American Families Pilot Research Program.

Dr. Cooper is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. on psychology from the University of Michigan.